18 Nov / 2015(355)…16


No team in the history of sport has ever won 16 successive(15 consecutive) games. Australia won 16 straight Test wins, and  it  started in Harare Oct 1999 and lasted till Feb 2001 in Mumbai against India. The team was led by Stephen Waugh and coached by John Buchanan(G Marsh was coach when they won the first game in Harare).


 Here is list of all 16 successive wins 





Here are some highlights of  that epic win


20 players took part in this epic.

-9 Tests got over with more than 1 day to spare(5 got over in 3days)

 – Winning by Inns:- 4 games

– Winning by 10 wkts – 3 Tests  

– Winning by >150 runs – 3 Tests 

– Batting Score of  > 400 runs – 9 times 

– Bowling out teams for less than 200 runs  -14 times   

Awards : 3 for S Waugh and M Slater   2 for G McGrath and A Gilchrist.

Lead give to teams (didnt concede any lead) 

Lead : 100 or more – 12 Tests 

Lead: 200 or more – 6 Tests 

Lead : 250 or more – 3 Tests 


Debutants : 3 – Adam Gilchrist, Scott Muller and Brett Lee

Here are other indicators which reflects Australia’s performance in batting and bowling  




  Australia’s legendary bowler – Glenn McGrath was the highest wicket taker in those 16 successive wins






  Team’s performance (Batting and Bowling indicators)



               Average runs for each wicket Partnership(Australia’s batting and against Australia’s bowling) 


 Batting Position and indicators for Australian batsmen  


20 players took part in this epic win.Here is a list of all the batsmen. 




Here is a list of bowlers who were involved in this epic win 



Here is a link to snapshot of Australia tour to India 2001- http://allthatcricket.com/?p=1159

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *